top of page

What I was doing when I started So Effing Cute 📷


Sup? That's me. My husband, also with a BFA in Photography, has captured me on some 400tx film doing my best creepy smile. I was busy finishing my BFA in photo at CSULB when I started So Effing Cute, in 2011. It meant working until 3 or 4am most nights, luckily, (and certainly purposefully), my classes started at noon and I managed to sleep until 10am like a pro. I always loved shooting film more than using my digital camera, and in fact, I no longer own a digital camera, (in a market for a new one). I miss developing film, tripping in the dark on my way to the enlargers, and trimming my borders just so. I shot these photos, (minus the few my husband took), almost a year ago and just got them developed a couple months ago, a fact that makes me incredibly disappointed in myself. I could say, "I will bring my camera, shoot more, find a darkroom, print these puppies", but meh, I can only hope. Analog is expensive and for some reason seeing the world oversaturated with camera phones has disheartened me enough to change my mind every time I put the camera around my neck. I typically don't make it past the perimeter of my home, which as you can see, means a lot of photos of my dogs and plants. But damnit, my dogs are cute.

Oh shit, a few shot out in the wild, (Long Beach above, Hollywood Forever cemetery below).

My niece, a subject of many, many, many photos starting from the day she was born until forever!!!!

Those were a few shots from the measly two rolls I developed and my husband scanned. I have plenty more film, and plenty of camera love, and oh so many doggies to photograph. I hope I am back soon with more photographs. Below are the four best dogs in the world, Otto, Lily, Rex, and Olive, and of course, mi suegra. They are all in my life because of a photograph.

bottom of page